top of page

Coming to the end

I am currently writing this blog post in the notes app on my iPhone. This weekend I am staying in Gran Canaria which is one of the Canary Islands (a group of Spanish islands off the coast of Morocco). We are "renting" our wifi for €3.50 a day and it's not exactly working right now. I will be using my 2GB of data to upload this post on an app on my phone haha. But hey the point of being by the ocean isn't to connect to wifi, it's to disconnect and reflect. This coming weekend will be my last weekend in Spain. Even typing those words seem surreal after living here for months. Sitting by the ocean and watching the waves roll in has given me time to think about my time abroad now that my exams and papers and presentations are done. My time here has been incredible and an experience I wouldn't exchange for anything. But I have not spent it here alone. I have been with 29 other dedicated, curious, and caring Ohio University students. One of the things that truly amazes me is all of the different perspectives that have shown through on this trip. When you scroll through a fellow classmates Instagram or Facebook, it looks different than yours. Even though we have been most of the same places, eaten a lot of the same foods, taken similar pictures and lived with similar families, we have all had completely separate individual experiences on this trip. That amazes me. It has been a reminder to me that life in general is an individual experience. There is really no wrong way to live a life as long as you're enjoying yourself and staying healthy. Everyone has different definitions of "fun" and "adventure" and "relaxing". AND THATS OK! You don't have to do what everyone else is doing just to have a good time or you can do what everyone else is doing, it's your choice. This is life is for you to live your way. I'm not trying to get all sentimental and motivational I'm honestly just realizing how true that statement is. You hear it growing up all the time but for the first time it actually has meaning to me. So thank you to all of my fellow Bobcats on this trip for teaching about how live life as an individual. I will always remember that.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page