top of page

Without home, there is no travel

Currently writing from London, this is the last blog post from across the Atlantic and my last semester abroad blog post ever! Next weekend I will be HOME at last!!! It's weird to think that I have spent more time abroad in 2017 than I have spent at home. The best metaphor I have heard to describe this feeling is that it feels like I've been dreaming for months and I'm just about to wake up.

Although traveling is an incredible experience, I am ready to head home to my friends and family. I used to think that feeling homesick was shameful. Why should I be longing for home when I'm in such an incredible place? But I have learned that to be homesick just means that you have come from a happy home and that is something to celebrate. There is a quote from Josh Gates that comes to mind when I think about coming home: "Travel does not exist without home... If we never return to the place we started, we would just be wandering, lost. Home is a reflecting surface. A place to measure our growth and enrich us after being infused with the outside world." I cannot express how excited I am to come home, my final adventure of this semester. After wandering around Spain and parts of Europe, it is time to come back and settle in. Home has taken on a whole new meaning to me after my time here. It's more than just my house in Columbus. Home is where I am surrounded by people who love and support me. Home is not a place, it's a feeling. A feeling of safety, of love, and of welcomeness. A place where I feel unquestioned and comfortable. Home is where my story began and I'm ready close out this chapter and to bring it full circle. I want to thank all of you who have followed my journey these past few months on my blog. It was nice to know that I wasn't just writing for myself, but that I had others who were interested in my travels and were excited to read what I had to write next. Thank you for helping me find my voice. I hope that you too travel somewhere someday and keep a written record of it so I can follow your adventures. 

¡Adiós y hasta luego!

My lovely Columbus home. I'll be there soon. 


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page